Thoughts of a 20-year Old

AM I DOING THIS RIGHT?

WHERE WILL I BE?

and the most important question of all:

WHAT. THE. FUCK. AM. I. DOING?

These questions consume my mind weekly. At times I feel inadequate. Because at times it seems as if I’m just not “there” yet – whatever “there” means. Perhaps this is due to the fact that there is pressure to achieve and do things by a certain age. It’s this condescending statement that always gets under my skin, “Well you’re [insert age] years old now” so basically you need to have your shit together. Well guess fucking what?! I don’t, not like you want me to have my shit together. I’m still learning and figuring shit out. There’s so much pressure to get “there” but I’ve realized that “there” is only a concept. There’s no such thing. Everyone moves at their own pace, lives their own lives, and does what the hell they want to do. It comes a time where you have to realize you are the one that is living your life, no one else. Take those outside opinions with a grain of salt and make sure you’re in tune with the star player in your life – yourself.

BRI.V.M.

Published by

GirlSoWoke

I've got the world in my hands and I don't want to drop it.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts of a 20-year Old”

  1. Sounds to me like you’re very wise, no matter how old you are. Age has nothing to do with…anything! It took me to get into my 40’s before I finally stopped caring about getting “there” – as a matter of fact, I quit when I finally did get there because I realized exactly what you have figured out already. Kuddos! Check out my blog, I talk a lot about this sort of thing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

